9/2/17

I suppose the best thing to do here is just jump into what I have been up to recently.

Dark Souls 3

Dark Souls 3 is cool. I’m not sure exactly how far the game I am, but I have killed a fair few bosses now and traversed some pretty cool environments. I love that you can look up at the backgrounds in whatever area you are in and see the places you’ve been to, or are going. It really brings the world together. Some of the bosses have been rough on me. I am currently bashing my head against one and getting some small, slow progress. I could explore another area to give myself a break from the boss, but I am reluctant to give up the souls I have left on the floor of his room.

I’ll get back into this at the weekend, when I can really put some hours into it.

Nioh

I wasn’t very excited about Nioh when the first trailers showed up. It looked a little goofy. I got hit by the hype though and bought it on release. I played the opening mission and tutorial and I think it seems cool. This will be my go to game for the next few days at least until I get to grips with it.

Pokemon Duel

I gotta catch ’em. I can’t help myself. This is a mobile, turn-based, strategy thing with pokemon figures and my collection disease wants to play it despite my brain thinking that it might actually suck. It has the always fun mobile pay to win problem where my free to play team of small pokemon does not stand a chance against the big spender squad that I am matched with, full of legendary pokemon.

Tales of Berseria

This is my first Tales game and it is fun. It scratches the JRPG itch that I have. I like what I have seen so far, but the environments seem lazily done. They’re very basic in both looks and function. The movement around the overworld is the same and it gives the game the feel of a previous generation game. The combat seems to be quite deep and there are a lot of tool-tips popping up in the first few hours of the game, but so far I have gotten by just mashing out attacks in almost every fight, so hopefully that is not the case later on in the game.I still have a long way to go, but it’s a nice one to chill out to after picking the controller out of the wall following an hour on Dark Souls.

That’s what I’ve been up to this week. I’ll drop back in presently to catch up on stuff that happened since the last real update in August (it’s quite a bit!)

Leave a Reply

