My gaming goal for the year is to play a new game every week. It doesn’t sound like much, but it should mean I get through more than 40 games this year. This will not only start putting a dent in my (somehow ever-expanding) backlog of games, but hopefully give me a bit of focus and direction in my free time. It’s so easy to lose that time and indecision only makes it worse. Flitting between 5 minutes of this and that, or zoning out completely because you can’t make a choice and the day passing you by.

Two weeks in and I have now played two games. This week was a close run thing. I just about managed the five hours that I had set myself as a minimum. It’s probably not a good sign that I’m hitting that lower limit as early as week two, but I got there and that’s what counts!

Undertale 

I don’t want to talk about the game too much because, honestly, I think that it’s one of those games that you have to actually play yourself to experience it. It’s wonderfully charming, full of character and doesn’t take itself too seriously. It’s very clearly been lovingly crafted and I feel bad that I could not get on with it at all. 

I didn’t finish the game in those five hours. It was hard work motivating myself to play all week and I couldn’t work out why until I reached a particular boss and found that I simply could not be bothered to play anymore. I feel that the art style of Undertale sums the game up perfectly. It’s cute but there’s not really anything there. It seems very linear and while there’s a little more to the turn based combat than just picking an attack, it’s not much more. It’s nice, but it’s dull.

Perhaps I simply don’t get it.

Game #3: Final Fantasy IX 

To celebrate 30 years of Final Fantasy and the fact that it released on Steam last year, I’m going to play my favourite game in the series. Expect plenty of gushing about it because I love this game!

Leave a Reply

